How do team feeds differ from private feeds?

Team Feeds

All participants of team feeds have the same attributes: both "Update" and "View".

  • Feed participants are your team members.
  • Team members will only need to accept the invitation to your team. After that, they will instantly get access to all team feeds.
  • All data (such as feed description, updates, discussions, files) in such feed is visible and accessible by anyone invited to your team.
  • Team feed will be visible on your feed participants' Timeline, under your team.
  • If you setup recurrence settings for a team feed, all team members will receive regular reminders to update that feed.

    Example: Manager John created "Weekly Reports" team-wide feed. He set up reminders on Fridays.

    Result: 
    John: will receive weekly reminders to update the feed, will be able to write comments to teammates' updates, will be able to view reports from all team members, as well as team members will also read weekly updates shared by their supervisor John.

    Team member: will receive weekly reminders, will be able to write updates, will read what other team members contributed to the feed. Also every team member will be able to view and write comments to each others updates and will see comments by John addressed to his/her updates.


Private Feeds 

In private feeds different participants will have different permissions: someone can have both "Update" and "View" attributes, someone can have "Update" attribute only and someone can have "View" attribute only. Check this page to learn more about user attributes.

  • All data (such as feed description, feed updates, discussions, files) is visible and accessible only by those users who have "Can View" attributes.
  • People with "Can Update" attributes but without "Can View" attributes will not be able to view what others contributed to such feed. Also they won't view other contributors with "Update" attributes in the Participants section.
  • Private feed participants may need to confirm their participation to every feed you invite them to.
  • Only those who have been added to "Can Update" section will receive regular reminders to update a feed (if it has been setup as recurrent).
  • Those with "Can View" rights will not receive regular reminders to update a recurrent feed, but they can add comments.

    Example: Manager John created "One-on-ones" feed and added team members with "Can Update" but not "Can View" permissions. He set up reminders on Fridays.
    Also John added himself and his supervisor Olivia without "Can Update" but with "Can View" attributes.

    Result: 
    John and Olivia: won't receive weekly reminders to update the feed, will be able to write comments to teammates' updates, will be able to view all updates from all team members.

    Team member: will receive weekly reminders, will be able to write updates, but won't be able to view what other team members contributed to the feed. Also every team member will be able to view comments by John and Olivia only if addressed to his/her updates.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us